

# **NEWS RELEASE**

June 24, 2016 **Contact:** Jason Latimer, Communications Director (727) 464-4988 or 464-6108

## 44 Pinellas County Candidates Qualified

The Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections confirms **44** candidates completed their qualifying requirements for county office during this week's qualifying period. Six candidates made ballot position by collecting petition signatures (\*); all other candidates paid the designated qualifying fee.

The following candidates qualified this week:

Ken Burke (REP) Bob Gualtieri (REP) James McLynas (NPA) Greg S. Pound (WRI) James C. "Jim" Frishe (REP) Mike Twitty (REP) Joseph John Catalano (WRI) Charles W. Thomas (REP) Deborah Clark (REP)	Sheriff Sheriff Property Appraiser Property Appraiser Property Appraiser Tax Collector
Mike Mikurak (REP) Charlie Justice (DEM) Karen Seel (REP)	Board of County Commissioners, District 1 - At Large Board of County Commissioners, District 3 - At Large Board of County Commissioners, District 3 - At Large Board of County Commissioners, District 5 - Single Member Board of County Commissioners, District 7 - Single Member
Bill Dudley (NP) Joanne Lentino (NP) Matt Stewart (NP) Eileen Long (NP) Ken Peluso (NP)* Carol J. Cook (NP) Michael A. "Mike" Petruccelli (NP)	School Board Member, District 1 - At Large School Board Member, District 4 - Single Member School Board Member, District 4 - Single Member School Board Member, District 5 - Single Member

#### - MORE -

Tom McKone (NP)* David J. Root (NP) Jason Vargas (NP) James Dalrymple (NP)	East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 1 East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 1 East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 3 East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 3 East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 5 East Lake Tarpon Special Fire Control District, Seat 5	
Ron Kemerer (NP)	Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 1	
Jay D. Alexander (NP)*	Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 3	
Jorge Mercado (NP)	Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 3	
Vivian Diane Campbell (NP)*	Lealman Special Fire Control District, Seat 5	
Norman Atherton (NP)	Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 1	
	Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 1	
	Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 3	
	Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 5	
• • • •	Palm Harbor Special Fire Control & Rescue District, Seat 5	
Laura T. Martin (NP)	Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue District, Seat 1 Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue District, Seat 2 Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue District, Seat 5	
Scott Roper (NP)*	Eastlake Oaks Community Development District, Seat 4	
	Eastlake Oaks Community Development District, Seat 4	
Joseph Dinelli (NP)	Eastlake Oaks Community Development District, Seat 5	
Previously, nine candidates qualified for County Judge (May 2-6):		
John D. Carballo		
Holly T. Grissinger	Group 4	
Paul Levine	Group 6	
Dora Komninos	Group 8	
Curtis "CK" Korsko	Group 8	
Dwight Dudley	Group 9	
Myriam Irizarry	Group 9	
Dorothy Vaccaro	•	
Kathleen "Kathy" T. Hessinger	Group 13	

The following county races will be included in the August 30 Primary Election:

- Republican Primary for Property Appraiser
- Nonpartisan races for County Judge Group 8 and County Judge Group 9
- Nonpartisan races for School Board Member, District 1 At Large, School Board Member, District 4 Single Member and School Board Member, District 5 Single Member

The August 30 Primary Election ballot will also feature a proposed Constitutional Amendment (No. 4 – Solar Devices or Renewable Energy Source Devices; Exemption From Certain Taxation and Assessment).

*Reminder*: Florida is a "closed primary" state. Only voters registered with a political party can vote in that party's Primary Election.

For nonpartisan races, if no candidate wins the majority of the vote in the race (50% plus one vote), the two candidates receiving the most votes will be in a runoff on the November 8 General Election ballot. All special district races will appear on the November 8 General Election ballot. Unopposed candidates will not appear on the ballot.

#### - More -

Statewide, the qualifying period for all federal, state, multicounty, county and special district candidates began at noon Monday (June 20) and ended at noon today (June 24). Candidates for federal, state and multicounty offices qualify with the Division of Elections: <u>http://dos.elections.myflorida.com/candidates/</u>.

For information on Pinellas County candidates and the August 30 Primary Election, visit VotePinellas.com.

### # # #

*Note: NPA* = *No Party Affiliation; NP* = *Nonpartisan; WRI* = *Write-In candidate*